Missouri River Energy Services Scholarship Program

Missouri River Energy Services (MRES), one of Marshall Municipal Utilities electric power providers, has established a scholarship program to assist high school seniors with educational pursuits that are related to the electric industry. Up to 12 scholarships will be granted each year in two categories. The program is administered by Scholarship America®, the nation’s largest designer and manager of scholarship, tuition assistance, and other education support programs for corporations, foundations, associations, and individuals.

The Scholarship application deadline is March 15, 2022 3:00 PM Central Time.


Applicants to the Missouri River Energy Services Scholarship Program must meet all criteria in one of two areas:

1) Scholarships for Full-Time Undergraduate Studies

Up to five (5) scholarships of $1,000 each will be awarded to high school seniors who meet the following qualifications:

  • High school seniors who reside in a household receiving electric service from a Missouri River Energy Services' member utility. Residence eligibility may be clarified by calling Marshall Municipal Utilities. Eligible high schools are designated by Missouri River Energy Services.
  • Plan to enroll in a full-time* undergraduate course of study at an accredited two or four-year college, university, or vocational-technical school no later than the fall of 2022.

Scholarships will be awarded to students pursuing courses of study for careers related to the electric industry, such as an electrical technician (field service technician, wind turbine maintenance, power plant maintenance, etc.), electrical engineer or other engineering disciplines, mathematics, science, energy management, or other closely related fields.

These awards may be renewed for up to three additional years or until a bachelor’s degree is earned, whichever occurs first. Renewal is contingent upon satisfactory academic performance in a full-time course of study and continuation of the program by MRES.

*Full-time study is defined as full-time enrollment for the entire academic year.


2) Scholarships for Students in a Powerline/Lineworker Program

Up to seven (7) scholarships of $1,000 each will be awarded to students who meet the following qualifications:

Must enroll in a full-time* Powerline/Lineworker Program at an eligible technical college no later than fall of 2022.

Eligible technical colleges include the following:

  • Bismark State College - Bismark, ND
  • Dakota County Technical College - Rosemount, MN
  • Minnesota West Community and Technical College - Granite Falls, MN Campus 
  • Minnesota West Community and Technical College - Jackson, MN Campus 
  • Minnesota State Community and Technical College - Wadena, MN Campus
  • Mitchell Technical Institute - Mitchell, SD
  • Northwest Iowa Community and Technical College - Sheldon, IA.

 Powerline/Lineworker scholarships are one-time only and not renewable. Applicants do not need to reside in a household receiving electric service from an MRES member utility.


 As part of your application, you must upload the following:

  • A current, complete transcript of grades. Grade reports are not accepted. Transcripts must display student name, school name, grades, and credit hours for each course and term in which each course was taken.

One online recommendation form must be submitted on your behalf no later than March 18, 2022 3:00 pm Central Time.

Your application is not complete unless all required materials are submitted electronically.


  For more information on the MRES Scholarship Program, please contact the Marshall Senior High School Counselor, at (507) 537-6920 or Leslie Hisken, MMU Customer Service Manager, at (507) 537-7005.


Minnesota Municipal Utilities Association Scholarship Program

The Minnesota Municipal Utilities Association (MMUA) Scholarship Program is offered through Marshall Municipal Utilities (MMU) to High School Seniors who (or their legal guardian) are current customers of MMU. The MMUA scholarship funds totaling $5,000, are split four ways and awarded to First ($2,000), Second ($1,500), Third ($1,000), and Fourth place ($500) essay contest winners who plan to attend a post secondary educational institution.

Submitted essays are to be based on the theme "Municipal Utilities - Good for all of us" and be 500 to 750 words in length, typed and doubled spaced. Judges will look particularly for the relevance of the theme to the writer and his or her city. All essays should include a cover page with the writers name and address.

The deadline for submitting essays to Marshall Municipal Utilities is Friday April 15, 2022.

MMUA Scholarship Program Instructions, Guidelines, and Application Forms are available on line through the links below and at the Marshall High School.

MMUA Scholarship Program Guidelines

2022 MMUA Scholarship Entry Form

An independent evaluator will make the determination of the local winning essay which will be forwarded to MMUA for competition at the state level. The MMUA Communications/Member Services Committee will recommend four essays to the MMUA board for final awards at the state level.

MMUA will announce the state winners in May.

Scholarship money will be payable upon receipt of a fee statement from an accredited post-secondary educational institution. The award checks will be made payable to the contest winner and the post-secondary institution.  If the contest winner does not attend an accredited post-secondary educational institution within two years, the money will revert to a trust fund and become available to future contest winners.

For more details, contact Leslie Hisken, MMU Customer Service Manager. Leslie can be reached at (507) 537-7005 or via e-mail at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Go to top